Recording your Handicap

Follow Thread

By RHalliday

  • 0 Likes
  • 7 Replies
  1. RHalliday

    RHalliday
    Massachusetts

    I've been golfing now for about 3 years. Last year I started to track my handicap, but because it was integrated into an App it was submitting every outting. I'm assuming this is proper? Other people were telling me they only submit the rounds that they are prepared to play, and all the other rounds they play are just practice rounds? Is this what most people do? What rounds do you submit for your handicap? I always assumed that practice was happening on the range and chipping greens etc, and each round I played was for the handicap.

    Thank you!

  2. JYoung

    JYoung
    Ohio

    I actually put in every round. Even a practice round I am trying to shoot the lowest round I can. I play with a couple guys that won't put their lowest scores in GHIN. Sandbaggers. Hahaha.
  3. Dale V

    Dale V
    Surprise AZ

    I post all rounds played unless it is a scramble where I cannot track my individual shots. Beware of “selective posters” who only post high scores to inflate their handicaps for the purpose of having more strokes in formal competitions.
  4. DK

    DK
    Northeastern, PA

    I can't speak for others, but if I'm playing golf it counts as a round and therefore is counted. The only one's that aren't part of my handicap are the outings or scrambles that are for fun. These I guess could be labeled as "practice"
  5. Don O

    Don O
    Madison, WI

    You should post every round per USGA. Part of the rationale is to minimize sandbaggers only posting high scores and vanity handicaps posting only low scores.

    I don’t post casual rounds where for pace of play there are mulligans, foot wedges and less than correct drops involving any color stake.
  6. Military
    Check the FAQ's on the world handicap system website, and you will find the answer to all of your question

  7. Robert J

    Robert J
    Washington Township, MI

    I typically record all rounds that I play when playing with a partner.

    IF I want to p[lasy a practice round, I play solo and usually at a time of the day that allows me to do so without holding up anyone else on the course. I don't keep score during these "practice sessions" and typically only have a couple of them early in the season.
  8. Chuck Z

    Chuck Z
    Mt Pleasant, SC

    Military
    If I play one ball and keep score, I post that score to GHIN handicap system. It all balances out. I do not have time and tee times are hard to get to go out and play practice, as some call them, rounds. Most who play a practice rounds, play a couple of balls and do not keep score. They practice. Others choose to keep their handicaps within a range for whatever reason. As stated earlier, if you are playing and keep score, post it. It balances out. A true handicap. I use to play with a friend who would not let his handicap get above or below 10. Got him in trouble in handicap tournaments. He did not have a true handicap and got beat a lot. Just a friendly suggestion, based on experience.

Please login to post a comment.

Sign In

Haven't registered for Team Titleist yet?

Sign Up